Pakistan Super League Peshawar Zalmi

Peshawar Zalmi is a professional cricket franchise team that plays in the PSL-Pakistan Super League. Peshawar Zalmi was established in 2015 at the inaugural of Pakistan Super League by the PCB-Pakistan Cricket Board. Peshawar Zalmi represents the city Pakistan’s city Peshawar in the PSL. The franchise of Peshawar Zalmi was sold by the Haier Pakistan for US$16 Million for the period of ten years.

Peshawar Zalmi Owner Javed Afridi:

Peshawar Zalmi owned by Javed Afridi, he is the CEO of Haier Pakistan. He is a Pakistani businessman. Haier has sponsored many tournaments under his supervision. Javed Afridi owned a Peshawar Zalmi franchise for US$16 Million for ten years. Javed Afridi in an interview said that “Peshawar and KPK (Khyber Pakhtun Khuwa) are close to my heart, and I want to develop the infrastructure around the game in my homeland.



Darren Sammy Peshawar Zalmi Captain in PSL 2017:

Shahid Afridi has handed over the captaincy of Zalmi franchise of Pakistan Super League to the West Indian Player Darren Sammy, who has led his team to two World T20 titles. The announcement was made during the 2nd edition of Pakistan Super League draft in Dubai, UAE on 19th October 2016, with the tournament scheduled to be the played in UAE in the month of February and March 2017. On the occasion players drafting Shahid Afridi took the stage for a short time to make the quick announcements, one announcement is to assign Younus Khan or the task of batting coach and mentoring of Peshawar Zalmi and the second announcement is to appoint Darren Sammy as the captain of Peshawar Zalmi for the PSL 2017. At that time Shahid Afridi told to Darren Sammy, “Your Board didn’t give you respect, but I know how to respect the champion”.



Mohammad Akram Peshawar Zalmi Head Coach in PSL 2017:

Mohammad Akram is a former Pakistani player who bowled right-arm fast medium. Akram played in the 19 Test matches and 23 ODIs matches for the Pakistan between the period of 1995-1996 and 2000-2001. Mohammad Akram is the current coach of the Pakistan ‘A’ cricket team. Akram is appointed as the head coach of the PSL 2017 Peshawar Zalmi franchise.



Peshawar Zalmi Squad in PSL 2017:

Peshawar Zalmi squad 2017 has been finalized for the second edition of Pakistan Super League. Peshawar franchise includes a total of 20 players, out of those 7 are the foreign players, and 13 are of local players.

Peshawar Zalmi 16-Member players:

  • Shahid Afridi
  • Kamran Akmal
  • Shakib-ul-Hassan
  • Darren Sammy
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Haris Sohail
  • Sohaib Maqsood
  • Eoin Morgan
  • Junaid Khan
  • Chris Jordan
  • Wahab Riaz
  • Hasan Ali
  • Tamim Iqbal
  • Mohammad Asghar
  • Imran Khan Jr.

Peshawar Zalmi Supplementary Players:

  • Mohammad Shahzad
  • Alex Hales
  • Khushdil Shah
  • Irfan Khan



Peshawar Zalmi Management and coaching staff in PSL 2017:

In PSL 2017, Zalmi has few changes in its franchise squad and management. The Owner of the Peshawar Zalmi franchise is Javed Afridi (Haier Pakistan), the CEO of the team is Zeeshan Afzal, Manager of the franchise is Abdul Rehman, the president of the Peshawar Zalmi is Shahid Khan Afridi, Head coach of the team is Mohammad Akram, and batting coach/Mentor of the team is great Pakistani batsman Younus Khan. For the best instructions and professional tips in fielding side, Grant Luden from South Africa has appointed for the task of the fielding coach and fitness trainer, assistant trainer of the team is Ibrahim Qureshi. Physio of the Peshawar Zalmi has appointed from Zimbabwe’s Bradley Ian Robinson, and the analyst of the team is Usman Hashmi.

About the author

Sajida Kashif

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment