pakistan Sports

PSL 2017 Schedule, Fixture, Teams, Time Table

The second edition Pakistan Super League PSL 2017 schedule, fixtures, teams and time table has been announced. The HBL PSL 2017 schedule and fixtures are officially announced by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). The tournament will be played in a format of double round-robin while the play-offs will be played March 1st to March 3rd. The T20 cricket tournament will begin on February 9th, 2017. Islamabad United the defending champions will face 3rd place team in the first season Peshawar Zalmi in the opening match in Dubai, UAE in the PSL edition 2.

The final of the HBL PSL 2017 will be played in Pakistan, at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. The final of the second edition of PSL 2017 is set to take place on 7th March 2017. Pakistan Super League 2017 is similar to the other cricket leagues in the cricket world where the participatory teams first have to play a group level followed by the playoffs where the top 4 face each other to qualify for the final match.

PSL 2017 Teams and Players excahnges:

The second edition of PSL with the PSL Draft that was held on 19th October 2017, many hundred cricketers were a part of the Draft and the five teams brought in players to their squads, as some of the players are retaining from the previous season PSL2016. Lahore Gladiators were at the bottom stage of 1st PSL season, so as per rule Lahore Gladiators will pick 20 players 1st in the draft.

Islamabad United (IU) the defending champions will continue to be led by Misbah-ul-Haq. Peshawar Zalmi skipper from the 1st season Shahid Afridi has decided to give up on that position and handed over to this role to the Darren Sammy, former captain of West Indies. While Quetta Gladiators will need to observe at their Pakistan Twenty20I captain Sarfraz Ahmed to make it the distance. Kumar Sangakkara holds the reins of Karachi Kings after having given up the position or role towards the end of the opening edition of PSL.  Lahore Qalandars has now decided to dismiss the Azhar Ali from the captaincy of the team and give up the role of captaincy to Brendon McCullum for the second edition of Pakistan Super League. The biggest change of PSL 2017 is Chris Gayle’s inclusion to the Karachi Kings as in 1st edition of PSL Gayle was in the team of Lahore Qalandars. Sohail Tanveer added in Lahore Qalandars in exchange of Chris Gayle in the off-season trading window. Karachi Kings traded Babar Azam from IU- Islamabad United. Shoaib Maqsood has added to Peshawar Zalmi and Aamir Yamin added to Lahore Qalandars; these trading have been done before the start of players draft between franchises.

Pakistan Super League-PSL 2017 Teams:

About the author

Sajida Kashif

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment